Renewable Energy Sources means renewable non-fossil energy sources, which are wind, solar, geothermal, wave, tidal, hydroelectric, from biomass, from landfill gas, from the gases produced in sewage treatment plants and in biogas. 
The aim of the Cyprus Energy Regulatory Authority (CERA) is to promote the use of renewable energy sources and to ensure the protection of the environment. 
The Renewable Energy Sources systems used in Cyprus are: 
  • Photovoltaic Systems, 
  • Wind Systems, 
  • Biomass, and 
  • Solar Thermal Systems 
The promotion and operation of Renewable Energy Sources is determined by the European Directive 2009/28 / EK regarding the Laws for Promotion and Encouragement of the Use of Renewable Energy Sources. These legislative frameworks can be found in the Legislation section.